Two Icelanders Nominated for Foreign Fiction Prize


Two Icelanders Nominated for Foreign Fiction Prize

Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir

Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir. Photo: Páll Stefánsson.

Icelandic authors Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir and Jón Kalman Stefánsson are among 15 authors to be long-listed for this year’s Independent Foreign Fiction Prize.

The books to be nominated are Auður’s Butterflies in November (Icelandic; trans. Brian FitzGibbon) published by Pushkin Press and Jón Kalman’s The Sorrow of Angels (Icelandic; trans. Philip Roughton) published by MacLehose Press.

The winner will receive a GBP 10,000 award—divided equally between the author and translator—supported by Arts Council England, Booktrust and Champagne Taittinger.

This year’s prize saw a record 126 entries.

See the full long-list here.

More news

Recent Views