EFTA Holds Ministerial Meeting in Westman Islands


EFTA Holds Ministerial Meeting in Westman Islands

EFTA signs declaration with the Philippines

Photo: Icelandic Ministry for Foreign Affairs.

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) held its summer ministerial meeting in the Westman Islands today. Among the issues discussed at the meeting, chaired by Iceland’s foreign minister Gunnar Bragi Sveinsson, was developments in EFTA’s preferential trade relations.

Ministers of the four EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) signed a joint declaration on cooperation with the Philippines, represented by Mr Gregory L. Domingo, Secretary of Trade and Industry. The possibility of establishing free trade relations with the country will be examined, as stated in a press statement.

EFTA’s network of preferential trade agreements outside the EU currently comprises 25 agreements with 35 countries and territories, plus seven joint declarations on cooperation.

More news

Recent Views