Reykjavík
7°C
ESE

World Premiere of Eruption Drone Video on Tuesday

News

World Premiere of Eruption Drone Video on Tuesday

Holuhraun

From the video Roundtrip to Hell. Photo: Elisabetta Rosso.

Tomorrow night, Tuesday October 28, at 19:30 GMT (20:30 CET, 15:30 EDT, New York; Boston) the video Roundtrip to Hell, documenting our latest trip to Holuhraun, by Italian photographer Elisabetta Rosso made in cooperation with Iceland Review will be shown on icelandreview.com for the very first time.

Getting permission to travel to the eruption site is difficult and therefore only select media personnel and scientists have been able to visit Holuhraun.

Now you can experience what the Iceland Review team saw earlier this month. And more, because you will also see pictures from above, taken by the drone and never seen before.

In the video Elisabetta shows images of the trip from Reykjavík to the volcano, the flight and car ride, during which the group met a herd of goats and had to drive through a deep river. You will meet the police and others at the scene and see Iceland Review editor and photographer Páll Stefánsson in his year-round trademark attire: shorts and flip flops (despite the snow).

Finally the volcano lights up on the horizon, Elisabetta starts the drone and then you see a unique view from above. The lava now almost blocks the glacial river. Snowflakes add to the charm and the video ends with a mixture of fabulous photos and video.

Stay tuned for more.

---

Our special offer: A unique book on the eruption, made in only 100 numbered copies with a personalized greeting from you to a special friend.

Related

Tags

More news

Booking.com

Please consider supporting Iceland Review

IR Online

€3

Support

per month
IR Online

€5

Support

per month
IR Online

€10

Support

per month
IR Magazine

€55

For 6 Issues

per year